Personalized parking spaces offered to seniors at BHS

Personalized parking spaces offered to seniors at BHS

BONSALL – Long-term planning for the Bonsall High School parking lot (currently sharing the Sullivan Middle School campus) started two years ago. Dave Medcalf, BUSD director, facilities, maintenance, & transportation offered the idea of designated spaces (successful in some other districts). As principal Lee Fleming researched permit systems, she thought painted spots would be a […]

GEAR UP holds Rush Week at Potter

FALLBROOK – GEAR UP (gaining early awareness and readiness for undergraduate programs), an early college intervention program currently serving seventh and eighth graders in Fallbrook, starts the year off with a WOW School Spirit event, WOW meaning Week of Welcome. Over the next seven years, the GEAR UP grant-funded program through Palomar College will collaborate and team up with local […]

Getting school mornings under control

The American Counseling Association Special to Village News In too many homes, the average school day morning can best be described as chaos. Parents shouting, homework missing, favorite clothes suddenly hiding and a hundred other calamities that add stress to the morning and too often mean rushing to make school on time. While there’s no […]

Community invited to FHS football games

FALLBROOK – Fallbrook High School invites the community to its home football games. The community is invited to come to one of the themed games with performances by the FHS Dance Team and FHS Band during halftime. Tickets are free for FHS students with a spirit sticker, $5 for children and students, and $8 for […]

College of Adaptive Education introduces an American Sign Language class

FALLBROOK – The College of Adaptive Education, a nonaccredited “college experience” for adults of all abilities in Fallbrook, will be offering “Introduction to American Sign Language” at the CAE campus, 911 E. Elder St. The eight-week classes begin Wednesday, Sept. 20 and will be held every Wednesday from 6:30 to 8 p.m. This class is […]

Ricci to provide college and career counseling support for BUSD

The 2017-2018 school year will be the first for Bonsall High School with seniors, and many of those seniors will be attending college. Some of those seniors will be playing athletics at National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) universities and will need to meet NCAA academic eligibility requirements, some will be attending University of California branches […]

4-H club begins meetings Sept. 5

FALLBROOK – Fallbrook 4-H will hold its first community meeting at the Fallbrook High School Cafeteria, Tuesday, Sept. 5 at 7:30 p.m. All interested children can enroll at and are asked to bring $50 per youth to enroll for the year.

Back-to-School at BHS celebrates first senior class, innovative ‘C’ Days

Back-to-School at BHS celebrates first senior class, innovative ‘C’ Days

BONSALL – Bonsall High School held Back-to-School night on Aug. 24 with all four grade levels, freshman to senior, officially in place. Since the unification of the Bonsall district in 2012, the high school has added one class per year starting with ninth grade in 2014. The 2017-2018 school year celebrates its first senior class […]

Fallbrook seventh and eighth graders GEAR UP for college

Last spring, a new federal program was started at Fallbrook elementary schools for the students then in sixth and seventh grades. GEAR UP, a grant-funded seven-year long program offered through Palomar College, is now offering college readiness and outreach services to the students who will be graduating from high school in 2022 and 2023 in […]

Wild Wonders to present family zoo camps

Wild Wonders to present family zoo camps

BONSALL – As summer vacation comes to a close, Wild Wonders’ annual Junior Keeper-For-A-Day zoo camps go back into hibernation until next June. This year, over 200 children, ages 6-13, fed an armadillo, made treats for foxes, learned about challenges animals face in the wild, and met and touched animals that they had never known […]