Bonsall superintendent and teacher honored at 14th Annual Innovation in Education Awards

Dr. Justin Cunningham is the winner of the Innovative Teacher of the Year Award.

SAN DIEGO – With almost one-third of students nationwide graduating without the skills necessary to succeed in a competitive workforce, Classroom of the Future Foundation is hosting its 14th Annual Innovation in Education Awards to recognize local educators and programs that are preparing San Diego County students with the skills required for their future careers.

Ten awards will be given out at the awards ceremony, which will take place on May 24 at 4 p.m. at SeaWorld.

“Each year, the foundation recognizes local classroom leaders and programs that expand student learning through innovative teaching techniques,” said James Wright, CEO at Classroom of the Future Foundation. “This year’s awardees exemplify the unique ways local students are learning to thrive in today’s competitive, global society.”

Allison Slattery is the SDCUE Innovative Teacher of the Year.

Superintendent of the Bonsall Unified School District, Dr. Justin Cunningham, will receive the Innovative Superintendent Award. Cunningham is a sought-after speaker in the areas of brain research, technology and learning.

SDCUE Innovative Teacher of the Year Award will go to Allison Slattery, a 4th grade science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics teacher at Bonsall West Elementary School in Oceanside. Slattery has taught in the Bonsall Unified School District for 20 years, and has been recognized as a 2017 San Diego County Teacher of the Year Finalist and the 2009 Greater San Diego Mathematics Council Upper Elementary Teacher of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.