Nominations open for Fallbrook Healthcare Hero 2014

FALLBROOK – The sixth year of the Healthcare Hero program sponsored by the Fallbrook Healthcare District will be celebrated in 2014. In the first five years, ten remarkable individuals, nominated by members of the local community, have been honored. Nominations are now open for consideration of the two individuals that will be selected for the prestigious honor in the new year.

Nominees should be individuals who demonstrate exceptional commitment to the health and well-being of the residents of this community. It could be a volunteer, co-worker, neighbor, spouse, or friend who is outstanding in their endeavors to make a contribution to and a difference in, the health of others.

The nominee does not have to live in Fallbrook, Bonsall, Rainbow or DeLuz but their work must be of direct benefit to those who do. The beneficiaries of the service of the nominee can be men, women and/or children. Those benefiting could be an individual, a family or a group of people. Age of those benefiting from the service is not a factor. The important factor is that the service contributes to health and well-being and is outstanding in its demonstration on a continuous and/or an exceptional circumstance basis.

The award consists of a personalized plaque, recognition published in local media, inscription on the Healthcare Hero perpetuity plaque, and honorary participation in healthcare events of the district throughout the year. There is no monetary award. Under the local healthcare district law of the State of California codes and regulation, public funds cannot be given to an individual.

The nominee submission form is a single page. To request a form by mail, please call the Fallbrook Healthcare District office at (760) 731-9187 or send an email to It is also available on the district’s website at One may attach items in support of the nomination – such as a newspaper article, certificate, photo, etc.

Nominations must be received by the Fallbrook Healthcare District by 5 p.m. on Wednesday, January 8, 2014.

The identity of Healthcare Heroes 2014 will be revealed in a presentation of awards at the Community Collaborative Breakfast on January 25, 2014 at the Fallbrook Library.

Past Healthcare Heroes

2009 – Don Luallin, Madelyn Lewis

2010 – Janine Loescher, Lucy Taylor

2011 – Myriam Padilla, Marilyn Qualls

2012 – Irene Escobedo, Brad Gilpin

2013 – Jennifer Seitel, Deisy Salas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.