Dahlke named team MVP at Warrior volleyball banquet

The post-season banquet for Fallbrook High School’s girls volleyball program was held Nov. 22 at United Methodist Church of Fallbrook and included the presentation of the team’s Most Valuable Player award to junior outside hitter Kendra Dahlke.

“She carried our team through almost every match,” said Fallbrook coach Robin Reese. “When she’s not on the court it’s almost a completely different team.”

Senior right side hitter Brittany Zelasco was selected as the varsity’s Most Inspirational recipient. “She always is cheering her teammates on and always has a positive attitude, fun to be around, somebody the girls look up to,” Reese said.

Zelasco had limited playing time during 2013. “It never seemed to bother her,” Reese said.

Ellen Allison, the only sophomore on the varsity, took home the Most Improved award. “The most improvement I saw in her as a coach was in her confidence,” Reese said.

“The first time she played against La Costa Canyon she was pretty nervous,” Reese said. “She welcomed the challenge.”

(La Costa Canyon won the Avocado West League championship with a 10-0 record, including two wins over Fallbrook, and reached the Open Division semifinals in the CIF playoffs.)

Allison was a defensive specialist and a libero for the Warriors. “She just kind of fell into her role, got comfortable there,” Reese said.

Senior outside hitter Sarah Grantham was presented with the Heather Schulte Award, which is named after a former Fallbrook girls volleyball coach and athletic director and is awarded for outstanding character and sportsmanship. “She does a lot for the team. You don’t even have to ask her,” Reese said of Grantham.

Grantham was also a team captain during the 2013 season. “She never complains about the extra work that’s put on the captain, and she’s just a good role model for the girls. She works hard, gets good grades, never gives up,” Reese said.

The junior varsity’s Most Valuable Player was Jessica Topete. Jazmin Patterson received the JV’s Most Improved award. Junior varsity Most Inspirational honors went to Alexandra Danso.

Manon Pournier was the freshman team’s Most Valuable Player, Lauren Haigh was the novice Most Improved recipient, and Lindsey Grant took home the freshman Most Inspirational award.

The banquet also included the presentation of certificates for varsity letters. Slideshows of season highlights for each of the three teams were shown. “It went well,” Reese said of the banquet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.