Field hockey players share award honors at banquet

Fallbrook High School’s field hockey team held its post-season banquet Nov. 29 at the Zion Lutheran Church meeting hall.

“It went well. We had some really good food and the captains did a really good job talking about the girls,” said Fallbrook varsity coach Kirstin Mueller.

The captains of Fallbrook’s 2012 field hockey team were Lauren Copeland, Jordan Dues, and Heather Williams. All three of those players were recipients of other awards, although as has become traditional, the awards are shared by multiple players. The only varsity award given to only one person was the Awesome Dad award presented to Patrick Dues, whose videos of the team were incorporated into the slideshow viewed at the banquet. Erica Dues and Annie Ashbrook shared the Awesome Mom award.

Jordan Dues and Copeland were the two Most Valuable Player recipients. Dues was Fallbrook’s goalkeeper and made 81 saves during the season. Copeland was one of Fallbrook’s midfielders in 2012, when her statistics included seven goals and eight assists. Copeland and Dues were both selected to the all-CIF first team and to the Avocado League first team.

Williams and Emily Strickfaden shared the varsity’s Most Inspirational honors. Dani Eells and Joy Kumagai were the varsity Most Improved recipients.

The junior varsity’s Most Valuable Player was sophomore defender Gaby Zinninger. Sophomore midfielder Rayna Acuna received the JV’s Most Inspirational designation. The junior varsity’s Most Improved award was shared by sophomore goalkeeper Jenny Smidt and freshman midfielder-forward Hannah Neibel.

The slideshow included both junior varsity and varsity highlights. Laura Vandivort arranged for a catered dinner from La Caseta. The awards presentation also included Mueller handing out varsity letters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.